SPEC Award


Sandra Wienke and Sunita Chandrasekaran awarded with SPEC Award for the Technical Leadership of the SC15 HPG Tutorial.


During the annual meeting of the Standard Performance Evaluation Corporation (SPEC) in Fremont (California, USA) in January 2016, SPEC president Walter Bays presented a SPEC Award to Sandra Wienke (RWTH Aachen University) and Sunita Chandrasekaran (University of Delaware) for their technical leadership of the successful SPEC HPG tutorial given at the SC Conference 2015.

The SPEC HPG tutorial “Towards Comprehensive System Comparison: Using the SPEC HPG Benchmarks for Better Analysis, Evaluation, and Procurement of Next-generation HPC Systems” was a joint effort by members of the SPEC High-Performance Group (HPG) and one out of 41 accepted tutorials at SC15 (~53% acceptance rate). The attendance of 55 people far exceeded the group's expectation and even the initial registration. A short announcement of the tutorial can be found on YouTube.

The SC Conference is the premier international conference for the high-performance computing (HPC) community. This ACM/IEEE “International Conference for High Performance Computing, Networking, Storage and Analysis (SC15)” was held in Austin (Texas, USA) in November 2015 and addressed over 5,000 participants in the technical program and over 11,000 people overall.